#3 first shawl love

#22aHello everyone! I am really excited to share this project – it was my first shawl ever and it turned out beautifully! The pattern is called Kevät-shawl by Ziina and can be found in ravelry for free. The patterns is pretty easy once you get the hang of it, and it starts with only 3 stitches, which was nice. I liked working my way to the top – it was a little bit of a challenge I admit. I forgot to add stitches a couple of times, but only noticed my mistake much later. Then, after trying to ‘cheat fix’ my way through, I decided that I could not let my shawl have a mistake in it. (Also, I know the mistake is there and it will continue to bother me for the rest of the project). Thus, I had to undo several hours of work … several times.

Kitty cat Blu was not too impressed my my progress

Kitty cat Blu was not too impressed by my progress

#22cIt was a lovely project to practice a lace pattern and to make a traingle project. What I loved most was casting off all the stitches and seeing how big the triangle actually was, and it becomes hard to tell when the stitches are squeezed close together on the circular needles. And then once you have cast everything off … the patterns just shines and I fell in love. The colour of the yarn is gorgeous, autumn red, and it goes really well with the pattern I think. I also like the size of the holes caused by the yarnovers. I used a size 7 instead of a size 9 needle, #22fand am very content with my choice. Now I have to figure out if I am ready to part with this lovely shawl. Maybe it will be a birthday present for someone someday? Maybe I’ll keep it for myself for those evenings spend outside reading a good book in spring or summer.

5 thoughts on “#3 first shawl love

  1. Oh wow, that looks wonderful 🙂 I vote keep it, after all, it’s not everyday you finish your first lace project

  2. atcterri says:

    Another pattern to “favorite” on Ravelry. Thanks for posting this!

  3. […] using a “sl1, k2tog, psso” method I used a sl2 k1 psso2 method which I learned from my shawl project. I just think the stitch comes out neater that […]

Leave a Reply

