#16 a baby princess

#16cI finished my first ever baby blanket! I am so happy with the way it turned out! It took me about 2 months to complete this blanket, but it was all worth it. The result looks lovely and I cannot wait for it to make it’s trip to Australia and await #16bthe arrival of the baby princess that will use it! At first I was a little nervous to make this project – a baby blanket seems easy but I was surprised at how long it took me to find ‘the perfect pattern’. I finally found it on ravelry, it’s called “Baby Chalice Blanket” by Karen S. Lauger. I had never really attempted to do anything ‘lace’ before, but I decided to give it a go. I must thank the girls from knitting club for sticking with me, as they helped me read the pattern and get going. Once I figured it out it was fairly easy, though I had to be pay attention to every row.  I decided to make the blanket big enough (its about 85cm x 110cm) so that it did not need to be blocked – and washing this blanket made the yarn so much softer! #16dI really enjoyed the whole process of making this blanket. It’s always nice to knit something that will be put to use, and that will bring a smile to someone’s face. I can now also say that I’ve knitted lace and made a babyblanket. I’m pretty proud of this project, and I’m going to have a hard time letting it go. I’ve already told all my friends that when they have kids I will knit them stuff 🙂

