#15 for Daddy

15 aHappy Tuesday again 🙂 Only 3 more Tuesdays until Christmas … yikes! I will have to knit fast to get all the presents done on time. I’ve decided to keep on posting once a week, so some of the presents may only be revealed after Christmas, that’s okay right?

This is a Christmas present for my dad – a scarf and a matching hat. I had initially found the pattern for the scarf on Ravelry (boyfriend by Lucinda Campbell). I thought it would be a nice pattern for my dad to wear to work. It gets very cold in Calgary, and so I wanted to make him something that was dressy enough to be able to wear to work over his suits. I think I succeeded in that objective. 15cAt the end of the scarf I still had some yarn left over, so I decided to make a matching hat. I had to make up the pattern as I went along, knitting in the round and gageing how much yarn I had left. It was a tricky situation, but I think it came out wonderful.You can’t really tell from the pictures, but every 2 rows there is a row of knit that runs through, making little squares and adding more texture than just knit and purl columns. I was also really excited to use ‘more expensive’ yarn. As a student I am usually only able to buy pure acrylic yarns, but for Dad I splurged and bought a blend that is 30% Alpaca. It was my first time knitting with an Alpaca, and it was a pleasant experience! I am really pleased with his gift, and I hope he will like it too. If he wears it to work, then this project will have been a success. 15b

I always find it so hard to find a gift for my Dad. I don’t know why, it always stresses me out more than any other gift for any other person. Maybe I am just a daddy’s girl, that might be it 😉

One thought on “#15 for Daddy

  1. Forest So Green says:

    That is such a beautiful color, I am sure your Dad will love it 🙂 Annie

Leave a Reply

